Porto 2017

This week I will attend the GEOMED2017 conference in Porto, in Portugal. Researchers from different horizons will be gathering here to attend to some talks about spatial statistics, spatial epidemiology and public health. This will be the perfect occasion for me to learn more on those subjects during the three days of the conferences. I will also attend a workshop given by Lee Duncan from Glasgow University on modelling spatial data in R with the package CARBayes).

I will also have the pleasure to present my recent work. During the summer, with Arthur Charpentier, I worked on collaborative genealogy data. I was hosted in the GERAD office, in Montreal. In fact, with Olivier Cabrignac, we obtained a really nice dataset from a website called Geneanet. This dataset provides information on people born between 1800 and 1875 (for now; hopefully we can get more soon!). There are several million lines! These data are obtained thanks to the users of Geneanet who construct their family tree as a hobby.

As a first step, we had a look at people’s migration between generations. It should be interesting to link the migrations with diseases. We had to work a lot on data cleaning and formatting to be able to use them. But I will write more in the following months about these data, as we intend to work on mortality. There seems to be a lot of really interesting analysis to run with these data.

You can find below the slides for the small talk I’ll give in the session called “Data Science applied to Health: Strategies and tools for big data, machine learning and data mining” session.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Porto 2017

Cette semaine, je vais assister à la conférence GEOMED2017 à Porto, au Portugal. Cette conférence réunit des chercheurs issus de différentes disciplines qui travaillent sur les statistiques spatiales, l’épidémiologie spatiale et la santé publique. Ce sera l’occasion d’assister à de nombreuses présentations pendant trois jours (et un jour supplémentaire durant lequel un workshop est proposé par Lee Duncan de l’Université de Glasgow, sur la modélisation des données spatiales sur R avec le package CARBayes).

J’aurais également le plaisir de présenter mes travaux récents commencés cet été avec Arthur Charpentier. J’ai travaillé durant les deux derniers mois dans les locaux du GERAD, à Montréal, sur des données collaboratives de généalogie. Avec Olivier Cabrignac, avons obtenus il y a quelques mois des données du site Geneanet. Ces données concernent des personnes nées entre 1800 et 1875, soit quelques millions d’individus. Elles sont renseignées, pour bon nombre d’entre-elles, par les utilisateurs du site Geneanet, qui effectuent ce travail à titre de hobby.

Dans un premier temps, nous nous sommes penchés sur les mouvements de ces individus entre les générations. Il devrait être intéressant de regarder si ces migrations sont liées à des maladies. Nous avons eu pas mal de travail à faire pour mettre en forme les données, pour les obtenir dans un format utilisable pour ce que nous souhaitons faire. Je reparlerai de ces données plus tard, pour un autre projet sur la mortalité de ces individus. Il y a tout un tas d’analyses passionnantes à effectuer avec ces données !

Pour info, voici le diaporama qui accompagnera ma présentation lors de la session « Data Science applied to Health: Strategies and tools for big data, machine learning and data mining ».


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.